Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
I have two HDDs on my desktop, 250GB has old fedora with all my files, and the 800GB has Ubuntu 9.10, brand new, no data. I booted into Ubuntu and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    pom
    pom is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    20

    fedora and ubuntu file system


    I have two HDDs on my desktop, 250GB has old fedora with all my files, and the 800GB has Ubuntu 9.10, brand new, no data. I booted into Ubuntu and it sees the 250GB drive but got error when mount the drive, something about LVM2 file system. I search the web and found that I need to re-partition Ubuntu side to LVM, which as I understand will be a new install.

    Question: Can someone suggest an easiest way to copy all my files from Fedora side (/dev/sda disk) onto Ubuntu disk (/dev/sdb)?

    thanks

  2. #2
    Linux Guru coopstah13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    3,149

  3. #3
    pom
    pom is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    20

    yes, but Ubuntu is not LVM

    thanks for your note.
    I can not simply mount Ubuntu on the LVM file system.

    I will go back to Fedora.

  4. #4
    pom
    pom is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    20
    please considered this issue close for me, thanks

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Mumbai
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by pom View Post
    thanks for your note.
    I can not simply mount Ubuntu on the LVM file system.

    I will go back to Fedora.
    Hi,

    I think you will be more than happy with Ubuntu. It is better than Fedora as far as packages and ease of use is concerned. For the LVM issue, you should try the methos given by coopstah13. It should work.

  6. #6
    pom
    pom is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    20

    command to mount

    O.k. This is what I have from fdisk -l

    fdisk -l

    Disk /dev/sda: 250.0 GB, 250000000000 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 30394 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 * 1 10199 81923436 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda2 10200 10212 104422+ 83 Linux
    /dev/sda3 10213 30394 162111915 8e Linux LVM

    Disk /dev/sdb: 800.1 GB, 800166076416 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 97281 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sdb1 * 1 64 512000 83 Linux
    Partition 1 does not end on cylinder boundary.
    /dev/sdb2 64 97282 780898304 8e Linux LVM

    when I try to mount using

    "mount /dev/sdb2 /media/800GB"
    mount: you must specify the filesystem type

    So what file system? How can I find out?

  7. #7
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Tucson AZ
    Posts
    3,190
    "mount /dev/sdb2 /media/800GB"
    This site explains a lot about Ubuntu 9.10 and is worth a read if you are using it. By defaul, it uses ext4 filesystem type so, unless you changed it during the install, the following command should work. You will have to have created the directory 800GB in the /media directory for it to work:

    mount -t ext4 /dev/sdb2 /media/800GB

    What's new in Ubuntu 9.10 - The H Open Source: News and Features

  8. #8
    Linux Guru coopstah13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    3,149
    read my previous post on how to mount LVM!!

  9. #9
    pom
    pom is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    20
    Dear coopstah13,

    I am afraid I do not know what command to use to mount LVM volume, per your
    broad answer.

    Per Yancek, his suggestion does not work either.

    [root@PomLinux ~]# mount -t ext4 /dev/sdb2 /media/800GB
    mount: unknown filesystem type 'ext4'

    and that is why I posted in another post asking how to check file system.

    thanks

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2

    Thumbs up solution using shell commands

    first log in as root
    then type the following commands
    #lvscan
    #pvscan

    then identify your volumegroup correctly. it should be there in /dev/......
    in the future commands replace /dev/logical-volume by whatever logical volume that your volume group is

    then
    #vgchange /dev/volumegroup -a y

    after this you will be able to mount your filesystem

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •