Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am a complete newbie to Linux. I have a Macbook (2GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 1G RAM) and am looking into loading Linux as my primary OS (being able ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Macbook help

I am a complete newbie to Linux. I have a Macbook (2GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 1G RAM) and am looking into loading Linux as my primary OS (being able to boot back to OSX IF possible). Like I said, I am a complete newbie so I would need someone to point me in the direction to get step by step instructions and for someone also to tell me which version of Linux to get. I have been using OSX for a couple of years and I am not completely computer stupid but would like some form of Linux that isn't too entirely hard to master.

Any help would be very much appreciated. Thanks.

Hi eamonster - welcome to Linux Forums.

First know that I am no mac guy, but that shouldn't impact here as i know dual boot can be done with osx.

I would try Ubuntu - just because it is popular and a decent distro. Because of the popularity, you can google tons of dual boot stuff.

If you have played on the command line (cl) a bit in osx you will be more at home with Linux, as the commands are close to the same. If not don't worry about it - you will get your feet wet soon enough.

So step by step:

1. find your distro (i suggest http:://distrowatch.com/ as a good place to start).

2. download the .iso file for the one you want.

3, use your regular media burner but make sure you "burn an image" and burn to cd/dvd.

4. if it's a live distro (Ubuntu is) make sure you computer is set to boot from media and boot with it.

5. if it asks "try or install" choose try the first time to make sure it looks like you want it to.