Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
As a newbie, I have just been using distro's that install with a graphical interface, but some of the distro's forum members recommend are installed text mode only. How difficult ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

[SOLVED] textmode vs graphical

As a newbie, I have just been using distro's that install with a graphical interface, but some of the distro's forum members recommend are installed text mode only. How difficult is a text mode install, and is it something a newbie should avoid?

Maybe you get finer control (more options) in text-mode.
    It is also more fail safe, given that it is easier to write text than displaying graphics.

Provided they are able to read, I don't see why text-based interfaces should be avoided by newbies.
    Debian GNU/Linux -- You know you want it.

Test Mode installation uses Text Based interface and it is not difficult at all.
    Sometimes LiveCDs/Graphical Installers do not configure a few Graphics Cards correctly and it is difficult to install distro in those cases.
    Text based installer sort out installation problem because it uses minimal Graphics and works fine with all Graphics Cards.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Quote Originally Posted by MASONTX View Post
    As a newbie, I have just been using distro's that install with a graphical interface, but some of the distro's forum members recommend are installed text mode only. How difficult is a text mode install, and is it something a newbie should avoid?
    Difficulty depends on your comfort level with Linux and the distribution you choose. An install of Arch or Gentoo can be quite difficult, and incredibly time-consuming if you've never done it before.