Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I downloaded the Firefox 4 Beta, and when I try to run it it opens my Firefox 3.6.6. Whats the problem here? I cant find any linux installation guides anywhere ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    10

    Firefox 4 Beta - Slackware problem.


    I downloaded the Firefox 4 Beta, and when I try to run it it opens my Firefox 3.6.6. Whats the problem here? I cant find any linux installation guides anywhere to help with this - not that I need one - but this problem is too weird.

  2. #2
    Linux User cheesecake42's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    370
    Try completely uninstalling firefox and then just try installing the beta.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    1
    Sounds like you still have the older version of firefox installed. I think we need more information from you regarding your problem.

    First of all, how are you running firefox - command line, startup icon?

    Perhaps your path needs to be adjusted to find the new firefox first?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    There's no reason you can't have both versions of Firefox installed, they should have different binary names. Whatever you're using to open Firefox is pointing at the 3.6 binary. I think the default name for the beta binary is firefox-bin.

    I would create a directory in /opt for the beta and put everything there, then create a .desktop file to launch, for example:

    Code:
    [Desktop Entry]
    Name=Firefox Beta
    GenericName=Web Browser
    Icon=mozicon128.png
    Type=Application
    Categories=Application;Network;
    MimeType=text/html
    Encoding=UTF-8
    Exec=/opt/firefox-beta/firefox-bin %u
    Terminal=false
    MultipleArgs=false
    StartupNotify=false
    This saved as firefox-beta.desktop in /usr/share/applications will give you a menu entry

  6. #5
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,638
    I'm running the FF beta from my home directory,opt being reserved for real* software that isn't from the repositories. I just created a desktop shortcut to /home/elija/firefox/firefox and it all seems to work
    "I used to be with it, then they changed what it was.
    Now what was it isn't it, and what is it is weird and scary to me.
    It'll happen to you too."

    Grandpa Simpson



    The Fifth Continent

  7. #6
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    Let me make an addendum to that, I would actually create a slackbuild script to make the beta into a package, and have that installing it in /opt.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •