Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hello Folks, A couple of years ago i have bought Suse 10.1 and it worked great on the PC i had (rather old one). Now i have bought a new ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

[SOLVED] Installation issue

Hello Folks,

A couple of years ago i have bought Suse 10.1 and it worked great on the PC i had (rather old one).
    Now i have bought a new PC and tried to install Suse again but get problems with installation.
    When i Start comp up then the Suse (welcome) screen appearing and after i started the install then it goes wrong. getting kicked out to txt install screen and it seems that the install cannot mount the DVD i am using for further install..
    Have tried to copy DVD to harddisk and start the install from there but it didnt worked either.. perhaps i am doing something wrong, I dont know

Pls help a bit due i am a bit of a newbie in this field

If you have access to the internet, go to distrowatch.com and download the ISO for openSuse 11.3 or another distgro of your choice and try installing that. Make sure that your hardware works with the type of disk you are trying to use. I recently had prblems getting a DVD to play, then realized the laptop I was trying to use had a CD only drive.

Just Joined!
    The thing is that i have a fairly decent new PC.
    The DVD starts normally up and get the Welcome screen from Suse.
    When i press the install the Linux kernel is loading and a new screen pops up (where actually the installation screen appearing (if i remember right its called Yart or someting like that).. then the drive stops and getting kicked to the text version of the intall and there i see it cannot mount the drive which i find it weird because it is seen at the startup.

I dont know how to make a system dump.. otherwise i would have posted here

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Linux Newbie