Find the answer to your Linux question:
My name is markieb I'm a new user of linux.I'm running ubuntu 10.4 on my desktop but I can't connect to the internet .I'm using mobile broadband vodafone vmc lite ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Smile can't connect to the internet

My name is markieb I'm a new user of linux.I'm running ubuntu 10.4 on my desktop but I can't connect to the internet .I'm using mobile broadband vodafone vmc lite which is a huawei modem.The disc icon is on the screen and the auto run software is there but when I try to run it ,it says error can't find autorun and cant find media/my dischelper. exe.zip period.If anyone can help me I'm new to ubuntu and linux in general .I'm writing this on a different computer by the way,any help would be very much appreciated.

Never used one of these, but I believe it should work out of the box. You just need to go into the networkmanager to set it up.

Gordon's Blog: Setting up Huwei 3G Vodafone Dongle on Ubuntu 9.10

Linux Newbie
    ubuntu i know some drivers are propriatery and you will have to activate it in the system>Preferences>hardware menu.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!

Cool ubuntu newbie

This is markieb,Thanks for the replies I still can't figure this out.The icon comes up for the disc with two different modems 3G and vodafone when i try to run it it still says cant find auto run and cant find disc period.Am I even running files right? I've reconnected it edited connections is there any way to programme it to recognize modems or to insert autorun files at source?also is there a command to run software that's already installed?I"m only using this system a couple of days (if you couldn't tell).I'll check back later any advice is appreciated,thanks

Linux Guru
    I think you need to be more specific about the problem and exactly what you are doing.

Did you read the link posted by reed9?