Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
Hi! Apologies for the dumb question (but this is the noob section)... I've just started using Fedora, as it was already installed on a laptop I've just got, and most ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    8

    Red face [SOLVED] Minimise/restore


    Hi! Apologies for the dumb question (but this is the noob section)...

    I've just started using Fedora, as it was already installed on a laptop I've just got, and most of the GUI's making sense, except that when I minimise a browser window it seems to totally vanish & I can't restore it. I'm sure I'm missing something very obvious here, but there's nothing in the desktop settings that refers to it, and I'm having to re-launch the brower every time.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,392
    Are you sure you are minimizing it, and not just closing it? Which button did you use? Also, you have access to 2 or more virtual screens. It may be on one of the others so you don't see a tab for it in the docking/menu bar. Also, which desktop manager are you using? KDE (most common w/ Fedora), Gnome, XFCE, other?
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    8
    Yep, I'm using the left-hand button (the 'minus' sign), and there's a faint outline trace which shrinks down to the bottom-right of the screen. I wasn't aware of there being 'virtual screens' - I'm guessing these are seperate workspaces/desktops? I'm pretty sure I'm only using one at the moment!

    I'm using Gnome - I have scoured the 'Settings' menu, but can't see anything that relates to it. As an absolute beginner, I'm in no position to start studying script either, sorry!

  4. #4
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,482
    Try right clicking on the panel (a blank bit) and select "Add to panel"

    Search for "Window List" and click Add
    What do we want?
    Time machines!

    When do we want 'em?
    Doesn't really matter does it!?


    Conkybots: Interactive plugins for your Conkys!

  5. #5
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,392
    Gnome generally has two bars, one at the top, and the other at the bottom. The bottom bar is where the icons are when an application starts. However, it is possible to disable the bottom bar, leaving you with no access to the running applications when they have been minimized, other than reinstalling the bar. I'm running Gnome on my Ubuntu laptop right now so I will report back on the best way to do what you need as soon as I finish backing the system disc up, in case I fubar it during my experimentation!
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    8
    OK, my lower bar is still active (I have the 'log-off' and 'shut-down' icons in there), but no application icons. There's no option to add 'window list' or anything similar either, only icons to actually launch the applications again.

    Also, whenever I change the lower bar, I get an 'crash' warning appearing on the screen, not sure if it's significant or not, though. I've got a screenshot with all the details on, but can't post any images up here yet.

  7. #7
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Open a terminal, execute
    rm -rf /.gnome
    This will have the side affect of knocking out your customizations.
    Logout and log back in... you should have a pristine panel.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  8. #8
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,392
    Actually, it should be
    Code:
    rm -rf ~/.gnome
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  9. #9
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023

    Red face

    Quote Originally Posted by Rubberman View Post
    Actually, it should be
    Code:
    rm -rf ~/.gnome
    CRAP!!

    Gotta love a typo!

    You're spot on, though... good eye, Rubberman!
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Is it a problem with Web Browser only? Do minimized Icons for other packages/folder appear on Panel?
    Have you tried this :
    Right click on Panel's empty space, select Add Applet and select Windows List or something related to Taskbar from Applets list?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •