Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
hi i'm new to linux don't know what i'm running i see a k on the tool bar. well first i'm here to find kids games for my son and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

find kids games for my son - don't know how to download

hi i'm new to linux don't know what i'm running i see a k on the tool bar. well first i'm here to find kids games for my son and i don't know how to download it. i did one but it went into my folder and i don't know what to do from their i press every file in it and i just don't understand what to do please help

Santi

Hi and Welcome !

It looks like you are using K Desktop Environment (KDE). Which Linux distro/version are you using?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Just Joined!
    yes kde 8.5

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Open Konsole and execute this code
    Code:
    cat /etc/issue
    cat /etc/release
    uname -a
    Post output here.

Just Joined!
    Debian GNU/Linux 5.0 \n \l
    is this what you were asking me, sorry i'm new to this

Just Joined!
    Linux Santi 2.6.27-1-mepis-smp #1 SMP PREEMPT Mon Oct 12 21:22:47 EDT 2009 i686 GNU/Linux

You can install packages, games through Package Manger. KDE uses Adept Package Manager but I prefer Synaptic over Adept. Synaptic is not pre-installed in KDE.
    Open Konsole and execute this
    Code:
    su -
    apt-get update
    apt-get install synaptic
    Above code will install Synaptic Package Manager. Open Synaptic ( look for its entry in Menu ) and type games in Search box. Read description of all searched packages and install whatever you like.
    Here is a Tutorial on Synaptic Package Manager. It's for Ubuntu and it works fine for Debian too.

Quote Originally Posted by santi1031 View Post
    yes kde 8.5