Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello everyone, Thank you for taking the time to read this. I am pretty new at Linux so I apologize for the stupid question. Recently, I just installed the g95 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Symbolic Link

Hello everyone,

Thank you for taking the time to read this. I am pretty new at Linux so I apologize for the stupid question.

Recently, I just installed the g95 FORTRAN compiler and want to create a link to it so I can use it anywhere (ie: in the same way typing "firefox" will open a window no matter what directory you type it in). For example, I just want to able to call the compiler from the directory that includes the source code files like so:

~/research/fortran_code> g95 hello_world.f90

I tried a few different combinations using "ln -s" but the link would never work. I can run the code by moving into the install/bin file of the compiler, but it's really inconvenient. Anyone have any suggestions?

I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Where (what directory and name) was it installed to?
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

Just Joined!
    The compiler is installed in this directory:

g95-install/bin/i686-pc-linux-gnu-g95

I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    This is only a relative directory/path. Where, exactly, is it installed? In your home directory?

Just Joined!
    Yes, sorry, its:

/home/peter/g95-install/bin/i686-pc-linux-gnu-g95

Assuming it also put a lib directory there, you would need to do the following:

1. Create a link to the executable in either /bin or /usr/local/bin: sudo ln -s /home/peter/g95-install/bin/i686-pc-linux-gnu-g95 /usr/bin/g95
    and: export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/home/peter/g95-install/lib:${LD_LIBRARY_PATH}