Find the answer to your Linux question:
so im trying to install linux on a sylvania synet 07526 netbook the machine has an arm via 8505 processor it currently is running windows ce 6.0 ive tried distrowatch ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

which distro to get (already took the which distro quiz)

so im trying to install linux on a

sylvania synet 07526 netbook
    the machine has an arm via 8505 processor
    it currently is running windows ce 6.0

ive tried distrowatch and the which distro quiz but i cant seem to find a distro that will work for it. i tried debian but cant figure out how to install it (the netbook has no boot screen other than a black screen with a sylvania logo in the middle that says "loading OS image..." at the bottom. oh and ive tried hitting f8 etc while booting but nothing happens.

im relatively new to linux so i am a bit lost

As far as I know, there is no way to boot this machine from a USB stick. It is, however, possible to get install some version of linux on it.

There is a very long thread in the ubuntu forums discussing this, and a site set up distilling the info there, though not in the clearest of fashions.

I think Debian is still your best bet.

Linux Guru
    I googled the name of your computer and there is not much out there. The only useful bit of information I found is that it comes with 128MB of RAM which, if true is going to limit your choices. Ubuntu Network Remix is designed for notebooks but I don't know if it will run on your machine. Other smaller distributions are Puppy and its derivatives, JoliCloud (which is designed for netbooks), Slax and Slitaz. Slitaz is a very small system but useful for simple tasks like reading email,etc. I'd suggest you just go to the sites of the above and take a look.

More info on your hardware would probably help?

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close

Easy Peasy