Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Newbie here. A friend installed Ubuntu 8.4 for me. I tried to upgrade to the current new version but it will stop at one point and say, " Failed to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Upgrade from Ubuntu 8.04 to the current version

Newbie here. A friend installed Ubuntu 8.4 for me. I tried to upgrade to the current new version but it will stop at one point and say, " Failed to fetch ......compiz-plugins_0.8.4-0ubuntu15_i386.deb.. Hash Sum mismatch" and stop. I can separately download that very same file but it won't do it by itself.

how do I get it to work? I am just a windows user trying to learn to get away from Windows. Thanks for the help. This has been bothering me for the past ten days and each attempt ends at the same point.

Palani

oz
    forum.guy
    Hello and welcome to the forums!

My personal opinion is that going from 8.04 to the latest version of Ubuntu is too large of a leap for an upgrade, and too many things have changed between these releases, so I'd highly recommend that you back up all data and do a fresh install.
    oz

Hi and Welcome !

I agree with ozar. You should consider fresh installation of latest version or keep using 8.04 only. It's not recommended to upgrade from 8.04 to 10.4.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!

upgrading from Ubuntu 8.4 to new version

Quote Originally Posted by devils casper View Post
    Hi and Welcome !

I agree with ozar. You should consider fresh installation of latest version or keep using 8.04 only. It's not recommended to upgrade from 8.04 to 10.4.
    Thank you
    I shall do a fresh install with the new version. Thanks.
    Palani

Quote Originally Posted by palani_ENT View Post
    Thank you
    I shall do a fresh install with the new version. Thanks.