Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hey Guys, So I'm completely new to ubuntu (in fact this is my first time being ON Ubuntu), so I have a couple of questions. Firstly is about the bootloader. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Ubuntu bootloader?

Hey Guys,

So I'm completely new to ubuntu (in fact this is my first time being ON Ubuntu), so I have a couple of questions.

Firstly is about the bootloader. I'm used to using Windows 7 and recently have started using Fedora 13. I know on Fedora 13 that the bootloader can be fixed on the GUI through the Administration > bootloader menu. I was wondering if there was a way to change the bootloader from the GUI so that Windows 7 will be the default loader, but so that I have 10 - 15 seconds to select Ubuntu on the bootloader on start up. If it's not possible from the GUI can someone show me step by step (I'm a nooob) on how to do it from the command line?

Secondly, having only used Fedora 13, I was wondering what sort of commands I'd run into using Ubuntu. Are they still the same (aside from the obvious of pwd, whoami, etc which if I'm not mistaken are linux-based, but I mean commands such as yum/rpm which I was to understand are Fedora/Red Hat specific)?

Lastly, on Fedora there was the ability to use the "cube" style of changing the "workspace", where you could click ctl + alt + left mouse click, and your workspace would turn into a cube and you could rotate it. Is this possible in Ubuntu, and if so how?

Thanks much (I know it's a lot!),

Dustin<>