Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'll come right out and say it that I don't understand the Linux Filesystem Logic although I have studied it quiet a bit. I'm currently studying grub but my question ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Catch 22 with Linux file hierarcy question.

I'll come right out and say it that I don't understand the Linux Filesystem Logic although I have studied it quiet a bit. I'm currently studying grub but my question is...

How can a directory mount a storage device when the directory is part of the storage device?

The directory is data on the storage device but somehow it operates with out being connected to it s own data. See what I mean!

Any enlightening Info. would be appreciated!

Quote Originally Posted by theKbStockpiler View Post

I'll come right out and say it that I don't understand the Linux Filesystem Logic although I have studied it quiet a bit. I'm currently studying grub but my question is...

How can a directory mount a storage device when the directory is part of the storage device?

The directory is data on the storage device but somehow it operates with out being connected to it s own data. See what I mean!

Any enlightening Info. would be appreciated!
    you have to separate REAL filesystems (files on your hard drives) from LOGICAL filesystems.

When someone says filesystems they can mean several things.

1, the Linux filesystem, starting with / and continuing on to whatever file you want to access.

2, a partition or logical volume that can be mounted onto the Linux filesystem.

3, the filesystem type (such as ext3, ntfs, vfat) that is applied to a partition, and which files are saved onto.

A mountpoint is the directory on the linux filesystem (number 1) where a filesystem (number 2) has been mounted onto, joining it into the linux filesystem (number 1).