Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I'm new to linux so bear with me please I'm trying to install some drivers so my wireless connection will work and Ive got the genereal gist of how ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Post Cannot find 'hardware drivers' folder

Hi, I'm new to linux so bear with me please

I'm trying to install some drivers so my wireless connection will work and Ive got the genereal gist of how to do it, however Im stuck on a fairly trivial step...I cannot find the Hardware drivers folder! Everywhere tells me to look system>Administration>Hardware Drivers...but its not there.

(I'm running 10.10 on a HP mini 1001)

Thanks

ved
    Take risks: if you win, you will be happy; if you lose, you will be wise.
    New Users : Read This First

In Ubuntu 10.10, it was renamed to "Additional Drivers". It basically can help you install non-free (proprietary) 3rd party drivers for some graphics cards and wireless chipsets. You will need a working wired connection for this to work.

If you still have problems, the above link will provide us the info we need to troubleshoot.

Just Joined!

OKay so ive had a look at the link etcetc. Thanks for posting that, but ive still not got anywhere.

Heres what I get from the terminal:

Code:
    00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GME Express Memory Controller Hub (rev 03)
    00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GME Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
    00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME, 943/940GML Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
    00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 02)
    00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family PCI Express Port 1 (rev 02)
    00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family PCI Express Port 2 (rev 02)