Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello! I am not very new to Linux, however I am still a big noob regarding Linux. Could someone advice an up to date or long term support Linux distribution ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Linux with built in ATI drivers packages

Hello!

I am not very new to Linux, however I am still a big noob regarding Linux.
    Could someone advice an up to date or long term support Linux distribution which has ATI drivers and ATI Catalyst control centre packages integrated like I can see with NVidia?

My problem is that no matter what I do and how many forums read explaining instructions, ATI proprietary drivers just wont install. Reading the distrowatch.com website I noticed that some Linux distributions has ATI drivers marked with ATI Catalyst version number while others don;t. But the reason why I don't download those distro's is because they all (that I found) are based on Ubuntu and the problem with Ubuntu for me is that the computer I will use it on doesn;t play well with Ubuntu based systems. For some reason Ubuntu just keeps trying to fry my old pc because processors spins pretty hard, as if it was rendering heavy 3D graphics. While Debian and other system based distros seems to not cause unexpected processor spins.

Maybe someone who experienced the ATI graphics cards hell would know Debian or any other main name based distros but not Ubuntu that could be suitable for my situation?

Thank you in advance.
    Best regards,
    Jetbird

Hello and Welcome. Usually if it will work on one distro, then it is possible to get it to work under almost any distro, support for most cards is not really a distro problem, usually it's just a matter of tracking down the correct driver and/or software and getting it to work. Have you tried getting it to work, but using this forum for help? We have a lot of very talented people here who are very willing to help you.