Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello, I'm not really a Newbie, but it's years ago I lastly used KDE (version 1.x ). Now I'm using KDE 3.5 for several weeks and one thing really annoys ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

KDE Window Position & Size

Hello,

I'm not really a Newbie, but it's years ago I lastly used KDE (version 1.x ). Now I'm using KDE 3.5 for several weeks and one thing really annoys me: there are a lot of programs that don't remember their last window position and/or size. They always default to a specific location/size when I close and open them again. I give you some examples:

Program that doesn't remember anything:
    - Konqueror

Program that remembers window size, but not position:
    - KMail

Nice Program that remembers everything:
    - Basket Note Pads

Is there a way to tell these programs to remember their position/size?

And a second question about konqueror: Can I tell konqueror to remember the view mode? I prefer MultiColumn view, but it always defaults to Icon view.

Thanks,
    Sheriff Hobbes

Well, never been much of a KDE user myself and haven't touched 3.5 for ages, but, as I recall, in the top left corner (by default) is a buttong for the window options dialogue, which should have an option like "Configure Window Behavior". You should be able to set your desired options, such as remembering position/size, there. Some apps don't always play always play nice with that, though, Firefox traditionally being problematic.

I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Most KDE applications (konqueror, konsole, etc) do remember, as do many other applications (vlc, kaffeine - a kde media player, etc) do, as does the current version of Firefox. As reed9 said, some don't play by the rules, or were written so generically that they are clueless. As someone once said, get over it!
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.