Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi everyone, I have done a few searches but most similar questions deal with older computers or experienced users. Since I am completely new to Linux, here goes: I've recently ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Newbie needing hopefully unusual advice

Hi everyone,

I have done a few searches but most similar questions deal with older computers or experienced users. Since I am completely new to Linux, here goes:

I've recently got rid of my camera and now have a 8GB compact flash card lying around and i was wondering if there is a suitable distro of Linux that would be relatively easy to install on this?

The only experiences I've had with Linux was when I installed Mint on my old laptop and saw the potential of having a lighter OS. This coupled with my odd fascination with those built-in fast boot stripped down OS has made me wonder if I might be able to find a distro that is small but has a GUI to help me learn Linux while I use it for my daily browsing.

My system is only 1.5 years old and there's no worries with specs on that side. The only issue might be the compact flash. It's an old 133x part going via a CF-to-IDE card so I was hoping that there might be something that would use the drive for any persistent data and programs but boot the actual OS into RAM?

Any help is greatly appreciated as I'm hoping learning Linux by being forced to do something strange but not too difficult will make it all the more enjoyable!

Thanks!

You could try Puppy. That's small enough to run in RAM and it has a nice GUI.
    "I'm just a little old lady; don't try to dazzle me with jargon!"
    www.hrussman.entadsl.com

Linux User

Just Joined!
    Thanks very much for your replies