Find the answer to your Linux question:
hi i just installed lunix mint 10 today and im new to the linux system (hoping to stay away from windows) but i couldnt configure my internet connections my internet ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

cant connect to internet

hi i just installed lunix mint 10 today and im new to the linux system (hoping to stay away from windows) but i couldnt configure my internet connections

my internet is a sbc yahoo dsl service. my pc is connected to a 2wire dsl gateway modem through a usb port. I think it is using a PPPoE connection type that requires a username and password. my pc is dual boot with windows pro and linux mint 10 in diff partition.

After a successful linux mint installation, i went to connection manager and under "wired" only "eth03" (which is ethernet right?) is listed but not the "2wire gateway USB" which is the name of the usb device connected to the pc. ----- so maybe lunix did not detect the device? There is also a "DSL" and "VRN" thing next to "wired" but i dont know what these things are.

Sorry i'm fairly new to linux and even still new to windows xp. hope you guys can help me out.

Just Joined!

hey

i am having some what of the same problem.i do not get it.here it is 2010-2011.and these os systems.are still crap.i have tried-ubuntu and linux.cant get my cell phone.installed.so i can do the internet.i do not know.if something is missing..from the os disc.we get.i do not know.and no one on these sites.will help you.they all feel that they are above you..same thing with win vista and 7-everything works.on windows xp pro..no failures..but i would like to learn linux and get away from microsoft-os..crap ..

Quote Originally Posted by male1952 View Post
    i do not know.and no one on these sites.will help you.they all feel that they are above you.