Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hello, I am new to Linux and recently decided to try loading it on an old desktop computer I had lying around. I heard Puppy linux was the easiest to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question Puppy 5.2 Internet Connection Help

Hello,
    I am new to Linux and recently decided to try loading it on an old desktop computer I had lying around. I heard Puppy linux was the easiest to use and would help make a slow computer run quicker, which is exactly what I needed. So after following the steps detailed on the Puppy Linux Community site I was able to successfully burn the .iso file to a CD and boot it on my computer. Everything seemed to work fine (although my computer did start to make a lot more noise than when running microsoft, even after I saved it to the hard drive) but I was unable to connect to the internet. I had an ethernet cable running directly from my modem to the tower.
    What I did:
    -Go to the Connect icon on main screen
    -Press the Eth0 button
    What happened:
    -A message saying the connection was successful appeared
    -When I tried to load a page a "DNS cannot authenticate -Page Name-" message appeared at the bottom of the window.

It would be greatly appreciated if anyone could give me a few tips and tricks to help solve this problem. I know I haven't provided much information but if you have any specifics that would be helpful in solving this issue let me know and I will post them here shortly.
    Thanks!

Linux Guru
    I run Puppy 5.2 and decided Barrys Network manager was kinda flaky. You will like the pet package I will recommend.

Puppy Linux Discussion Forum :: View topic - Frisbee Network Manager - Beta 1

Puppy 5.2 Internet Connection Help

I take it one step further by clicking on the DHCP button to test an active connection.