Find the answer to your Linux question:
Ok...Since I am new to the site let me begin by saying hello to everyone! Thus said, let me directly state the problem I ran into. I bought an Acer ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Ubuntu CD won't boot

Ok...Since I am new to the site let me begin by saying hello to everyone!
    Thus said, let me directly state the problem I ran into. I bought an Acer 5742G just the other day and it came with a linpus OS. However, I, myself, being a total newbie at Linux and having heard from here and there about it, decided to get Ubuntu.
    So, I downloaded the Ubuntu 10.10 Desktop .iso file, burned the files from the .iso on a cd, changed the boot priority order to the DVD and booted it. To my suprise, nothing happened. It just started in Linpus and some kind of errors started popping out.
    Any suggestion on how to fix it?

Linux Guru
    An ISO is an "image" of a CD/DVD. You don't put "files" from the ISO onto CD, you put the image itself onto the CD/DVD.

It's likely the CD is not burned correctly and the image is not bootable. You can try it in another machine to confirm.

You can Google for "how to burn iso image."

Just Joined!
    Kay, my bad. Let me check the cd's and get back at you.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    oz
    forum.guy
    Hello and welcome to the forums!

You can check this HowTo for making sure you downloaded, burned, and booted properly:

http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/ins...ll-cd-dvd.html

Post back if you did all that properly and are still having problems with it.
    oz

Linux Newbie
    Quote Originally Posted by Dr34m3rr View Post
    Ok...Since I am new to the site let me begin by saying hello to everyone!