Find the answer to your Linux question:
Edit: Justrealized this should be in Wireless Internet... My bad, got over anxious at maybe finally getting help. I recently bought a Cantenna and a Wifi USB Dongle with RPSMA ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

wifi USB Dongle (Driver) Help Needed

Edit: Justrealized this should be in Wireless Internet... My bad, got over anxious at maybe finally getting help.

I recently bought a Cantenna and a Wifi USB Dongle with RPSMA So I could attatch the Cantenna to it via that.

The Usb Dongle advertised support for linux... I can get signals of many AP's, but I can't connect to any of them...

The USB I bought was

300M USB Wireless LAN Adapter WIFI 802.11n/g/b Antenna (link can be provided, but I don't have enough posts to put it in here... )

I don't think the driver works and to be honest I'm a complete noob at Linux Pretty Much. Running Ubuntu 10.10 At the moment, forget what Kernel (Not on it while posting this, If I was I wouldn't be here cause I'd have internet!!)

I googled the Driver, Rtl8192SU and came up with

samiux.blogspot.com/.../howto-realtek-8192su-usb-dongle.html

For a fix on the problem (I think) And the person I bought it from linked me to the Drivers Page Of Realtek

(Once again have link but can't post Without 15 posts first...)

But that download doesn't work for me and I wouldn't know where to begin anyway...

Are there any kind souls here that can help me finally have internet... ??

Everytime I get close something messes it up and I don't get it, my family is to poor to pay for internet, we don't even have cell phones or cable. Please Help Me and much thanks to any who try in advance

TBH, I'd even be ok with someone telling my a linux distro this works on without having to mess around with ****, then I'd just download and install that... I just want internet!!!
    Last edited by stewmatt2002; 05-24-2011 at 09:06 PM.

Just Joined!