Find the answer to your Linux question:
i have a problem that i cannot solve because i am a newbie to linux. i have had a satellite m70 toshiba laptop and i installed linux mint 10 in ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

cannot log-in after dual-boot installation

i have a problem that i cannot solve because i am a newbie to linux. i have had a satellite m70 toshiba laptop and i installed linux mint 10 in it. i have used it for months and it was working great. until a few hours ago i decided to try out the new ubuntu 11.04. i installed it to dualboot with linux mint 10. i resized the disk to increase the disk for ubuntu but what i forgot is that linux has only 17 gb left of memory before installation and that i partitioned ubuntu to use 25 gb. after playing around with ubuntu i decided to go reboot and log in to mint. but when the log-in screen appeared this error came out

" Installation problem! The configuration default for Gnome Power Manager have not been installed correctly. Pls contact your computer administrator "

i tried to log-in and it just showed a black screen and went back to the log-in screen with the same message. it just comes back to the same log-in screen everytime i try to log-in. PLS HELP ME. i want to remove ubuntu 11.04 and just go back to using linux mint 10 and stretch out the 25 gb that was removed from it. how can i do this?

i have important files in linux mint that i have to recover for my THESIS. pls help me anyone. i need step by step procedure and line commands that i need to type because i am not well-versed with it. thank you very much.
    Last edited by vamunar; 06-03-2011 at 09:12 AM.

* Don't install anything on Ubuntu - because it may overwrite your lost data.