Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello everyone! Well, I'm just a very newbie with this Linux stuff and is assigned by our project manager to study around with this thing. My assignment is to make ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Cloud Computing

Hello everyone!

Well, I'm just a very newbie with this Linux stuff and is assigned by our project manager to study around with this thing. My assignment is to make his given Cloud Server as a Web Server. Can someone give me an Idea on how to do this? Please., My deadline is on Thursday. please..

Thanks..

Just Joined!
    So are you new to administration/servers etc. in general or just linux in specific?

So do you have an actual physical computer or when you say "cloud server" you mean you have some thing like an amazon ec2, linode.com , rackspace.com/cloud/ , godaddy.com/hosting/virtual-dedicated-servers.aspx , or something along those lines rented out?

If you do have a "cloud server" rented out what you will have to do is connect to it remotely, probably via ssh. IF you don't know what ssh is, it basically lets get remote access to a machine in a terminal window. The connection between you and the remote machine is encrypted. SSH is like telnet, only encrypted. Once you get remote access to your machine you set it up as a web server.

If you do have a remote server, do you know what distro it is running?
    If not running the command
    Code:
    uname -a
    from a terminal window will give some output with the distro name buried somewhere there.

If your a newb and even if your server is not rented from linode.com you may want to check out the linode library: library.linode.com/ .

Linux web servers are often called LAMP servers. LAMP meaning Linux Apache Mysql PhP. On library.linode.com on the left hand side you may want to read "Linux System administration Basics" and "Build a Lamp Server".

A few things: