Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I don't want to know the state (active, zombie, etc.). My question is, is it possible to view a process in action?. How to view a process in the background ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    3

    Is it possible to view the screen state of a process?


    I don't want to know the state (active, zombie, etc.). My question is, is it possible to view a process in action?. How to view a process in the background and check it?

    I hope my question is clear.

  2. #2
    Just Joined! jr0sco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    41
    Hi and Welcome. What's the process that you need to view activity for? If its a daemon you can look at /var/log/messages or /var/log/daemon.log. What ever the process is see if you can increase verbose/debugging either via a config file or as argument.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    7
    what about ps?

    not sure if that is too obvious though - it reports process information, man it for information. I tend to use "
    Code:
    ps -ef
    "

    Obviously it doesn't show u the exact status of a process but it shows you its activity and can be useful when used in conjunction with other commands like top for investigatory purposes.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    3
    Thanks to all.
    I've been thinking in a case of study: When I open a SSH connection to a BSD machine and later I install a port, for some reason the connection is lost and I have to enter some information to finish the installation process. If I can re-connect to the BSD machine with SSH: What can I do to see the installation screen? or, how can I enter the information needed?

    Maybe some playing with BG and FG commands?

  5. #5
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,307
    yes, you could use bg/fg commands to control jobs within your terminal, but you'd be better off using the screen program. Install it, if you don't have it already - should be in your package repos. Then do man screen to see how to use it and report back if you need help using it.

    hth

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    3
    I'll take a look to screen + ssh.
    Thanks.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •