Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi im Jake, recently my computer has been randomly crashing and its getting on my nerves, so im switching to Linux. But im completely new to linux and have some ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Questions about Linux

Hi im Jake, recently my computer has been randomly crashing and its getting on my nerves, so im switching to Linux.
    But im completely new to linux and have some questions.

1.Whats the best distribution for me?
    I have:
    Windows 7 home premium 64-bit
    about a 2 1/2 month old computer
    it has an ATI graphics card(idk if there is support issues)

I am fairly experienced with windows, and have some experience with macs. I have been looking and Ubuntu and fedora seem to be recommended most, but they usually recommend Ubuntu for people new to Linux, but i would like the best stable one even if i have to learn more about it, and i do not want to reinstall the os just to get a better version of linux.
    also something without a ton of background processes would be nice.

2. After i install it where do i get drivers and software for it?

Specifically for my graphics card
    recommendations for good games would also be nice

3.Is there a chance my laptops touch pad and webcam wont work?
    if so how to a avoid it/fix the problem?

4. is the software distribution specific?

like if i get a game for Ubuntu, would it work with fedora? also if it is distribution specific which distribution has the best and most software options?

Hello and Welcome!

Ubuntu is great for making the switch. Most drivers are included in the kernel, so unless you have some exotic hardware, you should be just fine in that regard.
    Proprietary drivers, if not loaded by default, can often be installed from the System menu.

And there are very few pieces of SW out there that is distro specific. And even then, it can be installed using the source code.