Find the answer to your Linux question:
I have a 6 year old HP Pavilion zv6000 that I want to speed up. I currently have Ubuntu 11.04 installed on it, but I periodically have extremely long load ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Best Distro to use on my old laptop?

I have a 6 year old HP Pavilion zv6000 that I want to speed up. I currently have Ubuntu 11.04 installed on it, but I periodically have extremely long load speeds and memory dumps when I am trying to multi-task (browser, libreoffice, pdf reader, thunderbird).

The computer as an AMD Athlon 64 processor at 2.19 Ghz, 1 GB of RAM, and a 100 GB hard drive. I currently only have about 20 GB to play with, because I have an 80 GB windows XP partition that my girlfriend needs to be able to access.

I am a linux newbie so I need something user friendly and comparatively simple to install and use. Being able to dual-boot is imperative.

I need to be able to access internet wirelessly, use libreoffice, thunderbird, and I also need to be able to run some java programs in Sun Java 6. The java programs are very important. Right now I run them through custom icons I created on the Ubuntu desktop, and I'd like to keep that functionality if at all possible. My computer is used by other people that aren't linux users, and they need to be able to start these particular programs through Java easily.

Any advice on what distro I can use would be great. I am already accustomed to using Ubuntu. I have considered both debian and PuppyLinux, but I am under the impression that I can get a little bit more firepower than just using PuppyLinux since my computer has a little more zing than the ones I see it recommended for.

Thanks in advance for your recommendations.

Linux User
    I have several old computers e.g. Dell C400 (nearly 10 years old)

Your problem is mostly the 1Gb of RAM. I would try to max out the machine. This will improve both Windows and Linux.