Find the answer to your Linux question:
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By elija
Hi there! I'm very new to Linux, so i wanna know about how i could go about learning it. I wanna ask : - Should I start off by learning ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Where to start?

Hi there!

I'm very new to Linux, so i wanna know about how i could go about learning it.

I wanna ask :

- Should I start off by learning command line? At my school library i found a book 'Beginning the Linux Command Line' published by Apress.

- Is it 'healthy' to start learning general linux instead of going through a book that only covers a single distro?

- I've found some free online tutorial sources(general tutorial on Linux), but most of the sources seems old, some dated back in 2002. Do I have to worry about outdated tutorials? Because I don't want to go through the entire tutorial only to find out that it doesn't applies to latest linux kernel, or something like that.

Thanks in advance.

Hello and Welcome!

Terminal commands are a good place to start. And the commands will generally be the same, or very similar, across all distros. One of the main differences you'll find is the location of some files or directories. So tutorials can get you going in the right direction.
    A good one can be found here: LinuxCommand.org: Learn the Linux command line. Write shell scripts.
    Personally, though, I think there is an even simpler way of learning to use the command line... just use that instead of the GUI.
    Jay

New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

oz
    forum.guy
    Where to start?
    Hello and welcome to the forums!

Check the link in my signature for lots of good information on getting started with Linux.