Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I have a pIII 1.2 Ghz, with 256 MB of RAM. I have 3 partitions on my 80 GB IDE drive: C,D,E. I had windows XP installed on C ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

HELP!!!my system wont load OS after linux 4 installation ....pls pls

Hi, I have a pIII 1.2 Ghz, with 256 MB of RAM. I have 3 partitions on my 80 GB IDE drive: C,D,E. I had windows XP installed on C drive, Data on D drive and I tried installing Oracle Linux 4 from the oracle CD i received from Oracle. I am a newbie and just wanted to have hands on oracle. First i tried installing linux with Boot option as MBR, and installed Server option. All went fine with the installation, but upon reboot its not showing anything apart from a black screen with the cursor on the top left, after POST. Then i tried to reinstall desktop with boot option as first sector of the hard drive, and that too failed.
    I tried to get in the rescue mode and edited grub making default as 1 instead of 0, and timeout as 59 instead of 5, and that too dint help. Pls, get my system back as i have very critical data on it. My primary objective is to get windows back so that i can access my data, and if linux also works, that would come as a bonus. Thanks and Regards, Allen

# grub.conf generated by anaconda
    #
    # Note that you do not have to return grub after making changes to this file
    # NOTICE: You do not have a /boot partition.This means that
    # all kernel and initrd paths are reltitleative to /, eg.
    # root (hd0,5)
    # kernel /boot/vmlinuz-version ro root=dev/hda6
    # initrd /boot/initrd-version.img
    #boot=/dev/hda6
    default=4
    timeout=5
    splashimage=(hd0,2)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    hidden menu
    title Enterprise(2.6.9-44.0.0.0.1.EL)
    root(hd0,6)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz.2.6.9-42.0.0.0.1.EL root=LABEL=/ rhgb quiet
    initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.9-42.0.0.0.1.EL.img
    title Other