Find the answer to your Linux question:
Greetings, I'm a network admin looking to save some company $$ by setting a linux box for password-protected shares, rather than sending more money to Redmond. I've set up four ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Debian Samba issue from a newbie

Greetings,

I'm a network admin looking to save some company $$ by setting a linux box for password-protected shares, rather than sending more money to Redmond.

I've set up four shares for four users: Jeff (the boss), Pam, Myrna, and Tia. The idea is for everyone to upload copies of all of their disorganized company materials, so they can be sorted and cataloged and various versions of documents can be combined and standardized. Later we'll work on a read-only repository with master copies of form letters and whatnot.

Pam, Myrna, and Tia should have password-protected access to their own directories, while Jeff should have access to his own as well as the other three. (all four users are running XP).

Pam, Myrna, and Tia connect properly; they get a prompt for a password when they double-click the server; they can then view all four directories but only access their own. Mapping a drive as a persistent share works fine, too.

The problem is Jeff. I created his userlogon (jeff) exactly as I did the others, and I've even deleted him and re-created him.

The only difference I can find is that Jeff signs on to his local machine with a password, but the others do not. However, I cannot access the shares using his logon from any of the other computers, which do not require passwords to log on.

Here's the relevant part of my smb.conf (let me know if there are other relevant parts):

security = user
    guest account = nobody

[JEFF]
    comment = Jeff's stuff
    path = /share/Jeff
    browseable = yes
    writeable = yes
    guest ok = no
    public = yes
    create mask = 7777
    directory mask = 7777
    valid users = jeff