Find the answer to your Linux question:
Help! I have a SnapServer that is Linux based. I work for a small business and I took over IT a few months ago. This SnapServer is 3 years out ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Crashed Linux Based NAS

Help!

I have a SnapServer that is Linux based. I work for a small business and I took over IT a few months ago. This SnapServer is 3 years out of warranty and it has been quirky for a while.

Well, it has a lot of issues and it basically crashed yesterday. SnapServer support will not help and their website is painfully slow and not very helpful. Being a total newbie with Linux, I don't know where to begin.

First, it wont bring up it's administrative GUI because network information on the server will not stay. I tried the route add command to set the IP and default gateway. I could get it to ping finally but this information doesn't surrive a reboot. And I couldn't get it to set the subnet mask.

Second, when using putty, I captured all of the boot up info and it looks like the system directory may be out of space. From the CLI, what can I safely remove to free up space. This could be the main issue here.

Third, because I can't get to the GUI, the network shares are also gone and I can't get our data back. We've decided to get a new NAS, so getting our archived data is priority one. I tried hooking up an external (NTFS formatted) USB drive but the system never could detect it. And I don't know really how to get around linux via CLI to find out where my files are to restore.

This is a mess as you can see but I am betting this is easy for someone else. Bottom line...it would be easiest to get the GUI back up so I can restore the shares, get the data off and shut it down. If that wont work, I need a way, via the CLI, to locate my data, copy over to an external drive and be done with it.

Thanks!
    Brian

Trusted Penguin