Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes
I am a graduate and have an associates degree in computer science and networking & communications. I realize I need to start getting a programming background to help with my ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Windows user going to Ubuntu to experience/learn programming?

I am a graduate and have an associates degree in computer science and networking & communications. I realize I need to start getting a programming background to help with my overall knowledge of networking and just IT in general.

Is it really a good option to use a Linux OS to learn programming or would a program like eclipse suffice? Would it be better just to learn the shell and stick with what I know? I have just been recommended to use it and I figure I would ask the best people who would know!

Hello and Welcome.
    I think with a CS background coupled with networking & communications, you do need to broaden your horizon a little bit and take a shot at Linux. I think it will only increase your understanding of the way things "really" work. I would bet that after installing any distro,, you'll already know more than you did before even if you decide to remove it without even booting it up.

As for the programming question, I can't answer that because I don't know much about programming myself. Stick around, you'll get some advice soon.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

Hello and Welcome!

Learning Linux, or any new OS, is always a good thing
    A good place to start learning the the shell would be LinuxCommand.org: Learn the Linux command line. Write shell scripts.
    And for a good guide on scripting: Bash scripting Tutorial