Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 27 of 27
Like Tree1Likes
In a VM you can mount an iso as a CD/DVD. I can't think of any way on real iron though....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #21
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,488

    In a VM you can mount an iso as a CD/DVD. I can't think of any way on real iron though.
    What do we want?
    Time machines!

    When do we want 'em?
    Doesn't really matter does it!?


    Conkybots: Interactive plugins for your Conkys!

  2. #22
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Provided you have enough disk space to dual boot, you could use Unetbootin. You wouldn't have to burn a disc to install the second distro.
    dolo724 likes this.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  3. #23
    Linux Engineer hazel's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Harrow, UK
    Posts
    1,198
    Quote Originally Posted by elija View Post
    In a VM you can mount an iso as a CD/DVD. I can't think of any way on real iron though.
    Actually it depends on the distro. You can do it with Slackware if you have a floppy drive. Their installation disc includes floppy images that you can copy to a diskette and boot from, and then you point to the ISO image as the software source. Maybe some other distros provide something similar.
    "I'm just a little old lady; don't try to dazzle me with jargon!"

  4. #24
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,488
    Quote Originally Posted by hazel View Post
    Actually it depends on the distro. You can do it with Slackware if you have a floppy drive. Their installation disc includes floppy images that you can copy to a diskette and boot from, and then you point to the ISO image as the software source. Maybe some other distros provide something similar.
    That's quite nifty. Mind you I've not used a floppy drive in years.
    What do we want?
    Time machines!

    When do we want 'em?
    Doesn't really matter does it!?


    Conkybots: Interactive plugins for your Conkys!

  5. #25
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    42
    Guys, I need help again.

    I burnt the CRUX 2.7 iso to a CD, but it's not booting (yes boot priority is set to CD-ROM).

    Any ideas? Could it be that my CPU is too old for 2.7, i.e. not i686?

    Below are the contents of my cpuinfo file:

    processor : 0
    vendor_id : GenuineIntel
    cpu family : 15
    model : 4
    model name : Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.40GHz
    stepping : 1
    cpu MHz : 2390.581
    cache size : 256 KB
    fdiv_bug : no
    hlt_bug : no
    f00f_bug : no
    coma_bug : no
    fpu : yes
    fpu_exception : yes
    cpuid level : 5
    wp : yes
    flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe constant_tsc up pebs bts pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl cid xtpr
    bogomips : 4781.16
    clflush size : 64
    cache_alignment : 128
    address sizes : 36 bits physical, 32 bits virtual
    power management:

  6. #26
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    42
    uname -m, I got it, my CPU is i686.

  7. #27
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    42
    Dodgy ISO fixed

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •