Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
hi folks i have problem installing vlc player and these are some of the outputs i got 1. I get this reply that lua is not installed yet it is ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! jonniemuk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    E.Africa
    Posts
    58

    too many dependencies on vlc configure and fribidi error.


    hi folks
    i have problem installing vlc player and these are some of the outputs i got
    1. I get this reply that lua is not installed yet it is as you can see and all these dependencies keep coming up so i disable them and try to configure till it tells me that package 'fribidi' not found.

    folks these dependencies are so so so many i cant download all of them yet again install them all. I HAVE REDUCED THE OUTPUT OF ./configure.

    i request for assistance.

    Code:
    [rootmyself vlc-1.1.12]# ./configure --disable-lua
    
    configure: error: Could not find lua. Lua is needed for some interfaces (rc, telnet, http) as well as many other custom scripts. Use --disable-lua to ignore this error.
    
    [rootmyself vlc-1.1.12]# rpm -qa lu*
    lua-5.1.4-4.fc12.i686
    lucene-2.4.1-1.fc13.i686
    [rootmyself vlc-1.1.12]# 
    
    [rootmyself vlc-1.1.12]# ./configure --disable-lua --disable-mad --disable-avcodec --disable-postproc --disable-a52
    
    configure: error: Package requirements (fribidi) were not met:
    
    No package 'fribidi' found
    
    Consider adjusting the PKG_CONFIG_PATH environment variable if you
    installed software in a non-standard prefix.
    
    Alternatively, you may set the environment variables FRIBIDI_CFLAGS
    and FRIBIDI_LIBS to avoid the need to call pkg-config.
    See the pkg-config man page for more details.
    [rootmyself vlc-1.1.12]#

  2. #2
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    vlc can usually be installed using your package manager.
    What distribution are you running?
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  3. #3
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,168
    I don't think that the configure script for VLC will automatically install the missing packages. Try to run "apt-get install fribidi", and then re-run ./configure.

    And what jayd512 said: install VLC directly using the package manager. The version you are installing, 1.1.12, is AFAIK not the current stable version, which should be 1.1.11.
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  4. #4
    Just Joined! jonniemuk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    E.Africa
    Posts
    58
    Am running fedora core 13.
    So far i installed xmms through the package manager (gpk) but foe vlc not yet, when you try searching for vlc in gpk it cant fing it so i cant watch videos.

  5. #5
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Just as a heads up, Fedora 13 is no longer actively maintained or supported. It reached End of Life in June. but the repos should still be online.
    That said, you'll need to enable the rpmfusion repos. Open a terminal, and as root:
    1. rpm -ivh http://download1.rpmfusion.org/free/...ble.noarch.rpm
    2. yum update
    3. yum install vlc


    You should have it after that.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  6. #6
    Just Joined! jonniemuk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    E.Africa
    Posts
    58
    so i tried "yum install vlc" because i ahd rpmfusion already installed. Well every thing went on fine until the last conflict error of faad2. if you couldlook into the output and guide me accordingly thanks.



    Total 2.8 kB/s | 38 MB 230:43
    warning: rpmts_HdrFromFdno: Header V3 RSA/SHA256 Signature, key ID a3780952: NOKEY
    rpmfusion-free/gpgkey | 3.3 kB 00:00 ...
    Importing GPG key 0xA3780952:
    Userid : RPM Fusion free repository for Fedora (13) <rpmfusion-buildsys@lists.rpmfusion.org>
    Package: rpmfusion-free-release-13-4.noarch (installed)
    From : /etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-rpmfusion-free-fedora-13-i386
    Is this ok [y/N]: y
    Running rpm_check_debug
    Running Transaction Test


    Transaction Check Error:
    file /usr/lib/libfaad.so.2.0.0 from install of faad2-libs-1:2.7-1.fc11.i586 conflicts with file from package libfaad2-1:2.7-16.fc13.i686

    Error Summary
    -------------

    [rootmyself lib]$ ls libfaa*
    libfaad.so.2 libfaad.so.2.0.0
    [rootmyself lib]$ rpm -evh libfaad.so.2.0.0
    [rootmyself lib]$ rpm -ev faad2-libs-1:2.7-1.fc11.i586
    error: package faad2-libs-1:2.7-1.fc11.i586 is not installed
    [rootmyself lib]$ rpm -evf faad2-libs-1:2.7-1.fc11.i586
    error: package faad2-libs-1:2.7-1.fc11.i586 is not installed

  7. #7
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Have you tried rpm -ev libfaad2-1:2.7-16.fc13.i686?
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  8. #8
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,168
    Quote Originally Posted by jayd512 View Post
    Have you tried rpm -ev libfaad2-1:2.7-16.fc13.i686?
    Also, some repositories have conflicting versions of various packages. Try this: yum --skip-broken install vlc
    It may be that you will have to disable one of the repositories. Simple enough to do, but try the above first.
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  9. #9
    Just Joined! jonniemuk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    E.Africa
    Posts
    58
    alright folks,
    the problem has been solved vlc is running thanks all.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •