Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello, I've been away from Linux long enough that I am basically a newbie again, so here we go... I work in medical imaging, and am running a virtualization of ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

RHEL 6: Windows XP Virtualization USB Speed

Hello,

I've been away from Linux long enough that I am basically a newbie again, so here we go...

I work in medical imaging, and am running a virtualization of Win XP so that I can interface with some legacy systems that don't support anything other than Windows for their applications. The problem that I am having is that when I add an external USB hard drive to my virtual machine it gives me the friendly Windows message about how it's a high-speed device and I should hook it to a high-speed (I assume USB 2) port. Because it doesn't see the port as USB 2 it takes forever to transfer files between my laptop and the external hard drive.

I know that the hardware is USB 2 compatible (this laptop used to be XP, and I never had a problem), and I am not sure if this is a Linux issue or a Windows issue. Any thoughts?

Thanks,

Wes

Trusted Penguin
    Could this be a Microsoft issue? I thought straight-up Windows XP (no service packs, etc.) did not support USB high-speed. See this, for example.

I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    What virtual machine manager are you using to run your XP image? You may need to reconfigure the VM to support USB 2.x instead of 1.x.
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

Just Joined!
    Morning,

Thank-you for your responses thus far...

Quote Originally Posted by atreyu View Post
    Could this be a Microsoft issue? I thought straight-up Windows XP (no service packs, etc.) did not support USB high-speed.