Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi everyone, First time here.I'm typing on a ten year old lap top w/screwed up keyboard so I'm going to be short and to the point.Gfriend locked herself out of ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Locked out of Windows Machine

Hi everyone,

First time here.I'm typing on a ten year old lap top w/screwed up keyboard so I'm going to be short and to the point.Gfriend locked herself out of her Win7machine.I need a solution.Either a distro on a key/cd running live that I can down load hard drive, or away to break Admin password. I am a complete noob as far linix butI know how to set up iso on key. Im pretty lost here - bad enough that tomorrow she is ordering another off Amazon until we get this figured out. Sorry about the typos.

Hello there.

Here's a method that I have used twice on a Vista machine: Change or Reset Windows Password from a Ubuntu Live CD - How-To Geek

And another that looks promising, but I've not personally used: http://systembash.com/content/how-to...d-a-usb-drive/
    Jay

New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

Just Joined!
    I can find later versions but not 9.10. I know, I know, if it worked 9.10 it'll work with 11.10 - but will the instructions be the same? Remember, I just lost my (windows) eyes and I'm feeling around for the light switch in a linix room.

Yes, the instructions will be the same.
    Jay

New Member FAQ
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

Just Joined!
    2011-11-27_091637.jpg

I wonder if I could do a hard reset back to factory defaults. Will that remove the admin password?

Unless you are will to lead me by the hand, I'm stuck on the first screen. Everything is cryptomenian to me.