Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, i am total noob in linux. I am searching for linux distro with 1000hz compiled kernel or step by step guide how to recompile kernel in 1000hz for linux ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Distro with 1000hz kernel

Hi, i am total noob in linux. I am searching for linux distro with 1000hz compiled kernel or step by step guide how to recompile kernel in 1000hz for linux retarted users like me. All i want to do is run Counter Strike server on it. Thanks for help, guides.

1000Hz == 1MHz...

Are you sure you have a processor this slow? You don't mean 1GHz do you? My first 80386 computer ran at something like 33MHz, that'd be in the late 1990's. In fact I think the Atari ST I had in the early 90's ran at 16MHz. Or 12. Summat like that.

If you mean 1GHz, then any of the current distributions will do you - just make sure you've got the x86 version, rather than the 64 bit version. The speed of the final system would be linked to how much stuff you put on there above what's needed for your CSServer.
    Linux user #126863 - see http://linuxcounter.net/

Linux User
    It's even worse ...
    1000Hz == 1kHz == 0,001MHz
    My clock has a faster cpu *gg*

Quote Originally Posted by zombykillah View Post
    It's even worse ...
    1000Hz == 1kHz == 0,001MHz
    My clock has a faster cpu *gg*
    Dohh you're right. I think the Casio wristwatch I wore in 1987 was faster than that.

@Roxoff:

The OP is referring to the kernel timer interrupt frequency (tick rate), not the clock speed of any CPU.

@sanj:

Slackware uses a 1000Hz timer in it's kernels. I think Debian's kernels are set quite low (I seem to remember 200Hz, but not sure). What you set it to, depends on what you want to do with your system.

Quote Originally Posted by caravel View Post
    @Roxoff:

The OP is referring to the kernel timer interrupt frequency (tick rate), not the clock speed of any CPU.

@sanj: