Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
I'm coming from an almost purely Windows background with only minor experience with UNIX. But with a programming background, I'd really like to try my hand at linux. So as ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Linux User

Where to start?

I'm coming from an almost purely Windows background with only minor experience with UNIX. But with a programming background, I'd really like to try my hand at linux. So as a newbie, I have a couple of questions:

First, I think I will start with the Redhat 9.0 distro. From what I've been reading on these forums, this is good one to start with. Correct?

I currently have a 40GB drive running WinXP. For a dual boot, how much space should I partition for RH 9.0?

I do plan to do a lot more reading before jumping into things - there is some remarkable documentation out there. But if anyone has some good tips or pointers, please pass them on!!

TIA, and wish me luck!!

I am also a newbie, i have had some experience with linux and i have redhat 9 i really like it. it was really easy to install. i jst jumped into things so i am kind of overwhelmed with linux right now. but its coming along for me. i think redhat 9 is an excelent choice. i first used mandrake 7.1 or something and it was pretty nice, too. but i really like redhat 9. i am running my redhat 9 on a really slow computer but i was supprised how fast redhat 9 runs on it.

well i guess im jst kind of blabbering on so i will go now.

BIG K

Linux User
    Thanks for the input, big k.

I'm still wondering how much space I will require. I have to repartition the windows drive anyway (a reformat is becoming necessary - that's windows for ya), so how much would you recommend leaving for RH 9?

Linux Guru
    I would say allow 6 gig if your not going to be downloading big movies, mp3's etc onto your linux partition, otherwise increase accordingly.