Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Hello fellow linux forum users! I'm hoping you can help me with a few issues I've been having whilst attempting to install software on my little eee PC (I'm completely ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Installing/running software on Asus eee PC

Hello fellow linux forum users!

I'm hoping you can help me with a few issues I've been having whilst attempting to install software on my little eee PC (I'm completely new to linux, so please excuse the retarded sounding questions!).

After doing a few google searches I found that Blender3D can run quite happily on one of these little things, I even found a lite version that was specifically made for the eee PC (argh! it won't let me post the url till my 15th post, sorry)
    After downloading it, I attempted to run it..but it has kicked out the following error:
    /home/user/blender_2.62/blender: error while loading shared libraries: libfftw3.so.3: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

From what I can gather from this, it's telling me that it's trying to look for a file that should be there, but isn't.
    Is it possible to download the missing file and throw it into the right directory? or is it some core component that's just missing from this distro and can't be added?
    I also tried the full blender version, but it kicked out even more errors so I figure I'd have more luck trying to get this lite one to run.
    Any help resolving this would be much appreciated!

Also, I found a really useful site specifically for eeePC users just a couple of days ago that had really easy to follow tutorials for getting various software to run and updating the browser etc, but it doesn't seem to connect anymore, so frustrating!

Just Joined!
    OK, let's see...
    Can you open up your terminal and type:
    Code:
    cd /usr/lib
    Code:
    ls | grep libfftw