Find the answer to your Linux question:
Greetings! I've been running Ubuntu (old machine) as a file server since v.9 and until recently (teaching myself PHP) and the thought of having my wife web page run from ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Ubuntu 12.04 as web server - home ... (noob here)

Greetings!

I've been running Ubuntu (old machine) as a file server since v.9 and until recently (teaching myself PHP) and the thought of having my wife web page run from it, I recently began to explore using it as a web server.

I've installed LAMP and apparently it's working as I was able to type the address and .php file with satisfactory results. Now comes the issue... I'm lost as to what is needed to secure the server once I go live with it. I don't anticipate an extremely high volume of traffic, so I don't think hardware is an issue.

1&1 is currently hosting her website. The machine, as with all the machines in my home, access the internet via router. Her site doesn't collect any personal info (though I will be coding to do so in the future) but MySQL and a Mail Server needs to be configured as well (will cross that bridge when I get to it).

I've read many "home server" posts but many appear confusing... especially those using a different distro (by the way, should I consider using a different distro for a web server?)

I would think the basic configuration isn't secure enough and needs to be tweaked to prevent security breach.

Any help would be greatly appreciated! I haven't a problem "rebuilding the server" should that be the case. Nor do I have any issues reading/obtaining info to further help. Needless to say, I'm not looking for you to "build" it for me, but instead point me in the right direction so that I can learn from what you're providing and return with any questions.

Any questions, feel free to ask because I won't hesitate to do the same!

Thanks in advance,

V

Linux Engineer