Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi everyone, I am new to setting up a proper environment for my office. Currently I have 2 servers; 1 for mail server and 1 for web server. All these ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question Setup office network - dns, ldap, mail server?

Hi everyone,

I am new to setting up a proper environment for my office.

Currently I have 2 servers; 1 for mail server and 1 for web server.

All these are running on Ubuntu 10.04 LTS 64 bits.

I have a LAN configured correctly with proper internet access (the switch supports VLAN500 to ensure internet stability). I have a router gateway at 192.168.1.1. Now my dns I am using Google DNS 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4.

There's no firewall for now as I am still evaluating Sonicwall NSA2400.

Now I have few questions:-

a. My mail server as for now is zimbra.local. It is connected at 192.168.1.2. I can access this IP via my client desktop. But I prefer to enter zimbra.local (or some nice name) to access this server. I think I need a DNS server, but how do I configure one? I still need to access 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 as it is much faster connecting to internet with these nameservers. I assume if I create my own DNS, all my desktops clients need to set this DNS manually. Note, all my client machines are on static IPs.

b. On the mail server, if someone sends email from hotmail or yahoo to my office email address. e.g. eric AT mycompany DOT com. How do I configure my mail server to receive this? Even I setup a local DNS, it's still within the local area network.

As for now my office internet comes with 1 static IP address. Do I need to have a separate IP address?

For my office's domain e.g. mycompany.com, do I need to login to godaddy and change the nameservers and point to my company's DNS server? But my company DNS's servers (if created in point a), are all local IPs.