Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Hello Everyone! I posted my intro in the coffee lounge, where I said I haven't done much in the past 10 years tech wise. I've only ever installed Linux once, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    9

    Wary Puppy 5.3 on Legacy Frankenstein System


    Hello Everyone!

    I posted my intro in the coffee lounge, where I said I haven't done much in the past 10 years tech wise. I've only ever installed Linux once, back the spring of 2000 (I think) from a free CD in PC World magazine. I played with it a little, but at the time, it was too much for me to deal with, as I was trying to get my first certificate in A+.

    This week, I've been setting up my farm office in my son's old room, and took out an old, old machine that had Win XP prof on it, with all sorts of viruses (son watching porn, I assume) I decided to look at Linux as an option for a new OS, and am very excited and pleased with what has come out since the turn of the century.

    Now for the meat...

    Problem- GRUB makes it to stage 2 of Boot> the interface selection screen comes up and immediately freezes the whole machine>including the keyboard.

    The Machine... (modified some over time)

    Circa 1999- 2002... Here's the Frankenstein...

    MicronicPC Millennia desk top tower

    The Motherboard- Award 6.00PG (3/29/01) SMBios 2.2

    Hard Drive - WDC WD-40EB-00cpf0 40 GB (now 37.2gb)

    DVD/ ROM- Liteon LTD122 (Sony repackaged it as DDU-1211)
    12x 40 drive, 32x

    DVD/CD/RW- NEC NR 7700A 32X

    Floppy- Standard 1.5

    Video Card - NVidia Riva TnT 2/ 64 (AGP 4x support, 32mb VRam)

    Sound Card- Creative Labs SB Live! Series (WDM) 5.1.2535.0

    Network Card (NIC)- 3 com 3c905tx based adapter (RAS Async Adapter)

    The Main Board also has 4 USB 1 (?) ports. Two in the rear, two up front.

    Input/ Output Devices...
    (I had to scrounge these up)

    Microsoft wheel mouse
    Dell USB keyboard

    Monitor...
    HP Pavilion MX70 (W/ Microphone)

    Network Connection...
    DSL (1.5 mb) < not connected to this machine just yet

    What I've Done...

    I downloaded Wary Puppy 5.3 on a Live CD, was able to have a successful install in RAM, where I then wiped the entire hard drive. of windows

    I then created 3 partitions as ext2...

    sda 1 (Boot) Flagged it as boot > made it 1001mb

    sda2 (Swap) 1000 mb

    sda3 (Home) 4.9gb

    After this...

    I did a full install
    saved
    reboot

    I discovered GRUB after this, and ran the GrubLegacy bootloader config program. I chose simple and standard as install options.

    I placed GRUB in /dev/sda1
    The selection I choose was MBR

    I then rebooted the machine, going into BIOS to reset boot sequence off of the HDD.

    Rebooted from BIOS upon save (Y)/ quit

    Grub makes it to stage 2> selection screen comes up> Machine and programs lock up> including keyboard.

    I've spent (as of the completion of this post) four days
    - reading about Linux> DEC history, Torvalds, Bell Labs, etc...
    -Looking for the best/ most comfortable OS for me to start learning from
    -Reading MANY articles from MANY sources on how to/ etc...
    - And... Attempting MANY downloads on my wife's new Dell Laptop to make live cd's/ etc... to install on my Frankenstein.

    I've averaged some 12+ hour days over the past four days to get to where I am now> Stuck on GRUB boot.

    My geekedness is re- emerging, and my wife hates it!
    The farm is starting to suffer for it, and I'm drinking way to much coffee, and smoking way to many cigs...

    I need help...

    Thanks Everyone!

    USDragoon

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Tucson AZ
    Posts
    3,190
    You indicate you created three partitions; /boot, swap and /home. Where's the root (/) partition? There really isn't any need to create a boot partition nor is it necessary to create a separate home partition. If you are just starting with Linux, it will be a lot simpler if you just create a / (that means root) partition and a swap. You install the filesystem to the / partition which would probably be sda1, create the swap on sda2 and for bootloader installation, select sda or mbr.

    To get some useful information that you can post here for help, use the Puppy CD, boot it go to the site below and read the instructions in the Description box, download and run the bootinfoscript and post the results.txt file here. It will have detailed information on your partitions and boot files and I expect someone will be able to tell you what you need to do to get Puppy running. Also, how much RAM do you have on this machine?

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    9
    Just read your thread yancek. I'm going try and post the results before heading off to bed.

    The reason for the different partitions was a suggestion from from someone who posted an article that suggested doing so for beginners, to get a better idea as to how the OS works. Perhaps I miss understood what the author was describing. I think that I'm going to try as you suggest instead.

    Also, I think I'll simply download the basic puppy distro, and see if I can get GRUB to take/ work. I opted to try Wary Puppy 5.3 as it seemed to provide more options of expanded apps and such, so I could get a better feel for the Linux OS in GUI mode, and see what it has to offer, while slowly learning the command line stuff.

    As for RAM, I upgraded this box to 1gb just before I was deployed, and never really got to try it out when I returned from Iraq, as it ended up having so many viruses and stuff from mainly my sons use at the time. I had bought a new Toshiba laptop for deployment, and just bought newer already assembled hardware thereafter with warrenty's. Thus, I've forgotten so much over the years, that now I'm as dangerous as those that I used to support in my I.T days.

    "Most computer related issues are caused between the chair and keyboard... "sigh"... that's me these days."

    I'll post my results in a bit.

    USDragoon

  4. #4
    Linux Guru rokytnji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Desert
    Posts
    4,098
    How NOT to install Puppy Linux (to hard disk)

    My dumpster found M/C shop computer

    Code:
    $ inxi -Fxz
    System:    Host: biker Kernel: 2.6.38-7.dmz.2-liquorix-686 i686 (32 bit, gcc: 4.5.3) 
               Desktop: Fluxbox 1.3.2 Distro: antiX-M11-base-686 Jayaben Desai 25 April 2011
    Machine:   System: GATEWAY product: W3507 version: 500
               Mobo: Intel model: D102GGC2 version: AAD70214-201
               Bios: Intel version: GC11020M.15A.2010.2006.0817.0956 date: 08/17/2006
    CPU:       Single core Intel Celeron D CPU (-UP-) cache: 512 KB flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3) bmips: 6399.32 clocked at 3199.664 MHz 
    Graphics:  Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RC410 [Radeon Xpress 200] bus-ID: 01:05.0 
               X.Org: 1.12.3 driver: radeon Resolution: 1024x768@85.0hz 
               GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on ATI RC410 GLX Version: 2.1 Mesa 8.0.4 Direct Rendering: Yes
    Audio:     Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI IXP SB4x0 High Definition Audio Controller driver: HDA Intel bus-ID: 00:14.2
               Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture ver: 1.0.23
    Network:   Card-1: Realtek RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ driver: 8139too ver: 0.9.28 port: 1000 bus-ID: 02:02.0
               IF: eth0 state: down mac: <filter>
               Card-2: Realtek RTL8187B Wireless 802.11g 54Mbps Network Adapter driver: rtl8187 usb-ID: 0bda:8189
               IF: wlan0 state: up mac: <filter>
    Drives:    HDD Total Size: 120.0GB (-) 1: id: /dev/sda model: ST3120213A size: 120.0GB 
    Partition: ID: / size: 109G used: 22G (21%) fs: ext3 ID: swap-1 size: 2.17GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap 
    Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 53.8C mobo: 54.0C 
               Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: 2625 fan-2: 1372 fan-4: 0 
    Info:      Processes: 85 Uptime: 50 min Memory: 234.0/880.0MB Runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 4.7.1 Client: Shell inxi: 1.8.14
    Another one I just setup

    antiX-forum - View topic - rcu_sched self-detected stall on CPU { 0} (t=15000 jiffies)

    The Macpup install I made was a frugal install. As you can see as you go through the thread. I boot grub legacy, grub2, and Macpup. Using AntiX 12 grub legacy to manage everything. Since you are doing a full install of only Wary Puppy. If me.

    /swap=twice the ram you have since no ram was mentioned in your thread. Probably low though since

    Circa 1999- 2002..
    On my low end gear. I give Puppy about anywhere from 512MB to 1 Gig of /swap/

    /=the rest of drive as ext3 file system.

    Then use grub4dos in Wary puppy to boot it up from the mbr. Anyways. That is how I would do it.

    Edit: just saw your second post about upgrading to 1gig of ram.

    1 gig of /swap should be fine in Wary Puppy if you are going to be compiling your own stuff with wary devx.
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    9
    rokynji, I have a meeting to go to soon, so I'll read the code when I get back and see if it makes any sense to me.

    I was up until 3 a.m this morning... Arrgh! I went in and re- partitioned the HDD. I then simply made "sda1" at 5gb to hold it all, then some, with 1 gb in the front as free.

    Q: will the the 1 gb free space in front act as a swap?

    I then went through the install process of puppy using the GUI. I also placed a copy of GRUB in the /root, in hopes that when I boot, the /MBR copy of grub would find it to help with the boot process.

    Q: wishful thinking? I do understand that the MBR is separate from the OS boot process... still...

    Rebooted the machine with the HDD in position 1. Same result. Froze while in step 2 of GRUB in the MBR.

    Q: As I have had plenty of time during the partition processes, I came across various posts/ articles about some file that needs to be removed from GRUB. Don't recall the file name, and am a little put off about going into the MBR without explanation from anyone who is familiar. It seemed that the info I found was also in relation to something called "sudu" ?

    I'll go into the MBR if needed, however, I'll need a walk through on how to do this.

    I did not realize I could install GRUB4DOS on a dedicated Linux machine. Perhaps removing grub to install grub4dos is not a bad idea.

    Q: If I simply run the Grub4DOS intstall utility, will it over write the legacy GRUB in the MBR? If not, how do I remove the Legacy GRUB from MBR?

    Also, I'm looking at installing a distro in the near future, where I could make this machine into a web/ file/ print/media storage/ etc... server. That's the end goal with this box. I have room for two additional HDD's, so storage shouldn't be a problem. (That's down the road at the moment, as I need to get the basics down)

    Q: Will there be any boot problems in the MBR if I have multiple Linux OS's on this machine?
    Q: What about security in regards to the MBR having "I assume", a DOS emulator (GRUB4DOS) as this box may have FTP, etc...

    Also it just occurred to me... apparently since my HDD partitions come out as SDA, I'm assuming that my mainboard is SCSI capable? I'm confused when I look back at my past life memory on such things. Should I be installing all this as a SCSI HDD, instead of IDE? Never occurred to me with windows install that I recall from way back when.

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Tucson AZ
    Posts
    3,190
    Q: will the the 1 gb free space in front act as a swap?
    No, not without some action on your part. I haven't installed Puppy recently. The last time I used it, it used GParted during the installation to create/format partitions. After you create your / partition and select to format it, you need to either select another partition (if you have any) or select free or unallocated space to use as swap. In the create or edit partition window you will have a filesystem option. There should be a down arrow which you can click to see options. Select swap then click OK to continue.

    Ignore anything you read about "sudo" or its use. It is not used on Puppy by default and is mostly used on Ubuntu and its derivatives.
    Also, there should be no reason to remove any Grub files during the installation.

    I'm not sure why you are installing Grub to the / partition of Puppy. You would need something else in the mbr to access Puppy and configure the boot file. I understood this was the only operating system on the drive, is that correct? If so, you need the Puppy Grub on the mbr. That will only put a small part of the Grub files in the mbr and most of the Grub files will actually be on your Puppy / partition with the part in the mbr pointing to the Puppy / so it will boot.

    Grub can boot numerous systems on the same drive. The "sda" labelling you might see doesn't necessarily refer to a "scsi" drive as newer distributions refer to any drive with the "sdX" label.

    If you can't get this going after reading the links posted above, you might try booting the Puppy Live CD, going to the site below and download and run the bootinfoscript and post the results.txt file here. Be sure to read the instructions first. It will give a lot of useful information about your partitions and boot files:

    Boot Info Script | Free System Administration software downloads at SourceForge.net

  7. #7
    Linux Guru rokytnji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Desert
    Posts
    4,098
    Q: If I simply run the Grub4DOS intstall utility, will it over write the legacy GRUB in the MBR? If not, how do I remove the Legacy GRUB from MBR
    Yes. Grub4doswill over write grub legacy if installed to the mbr,

    Old Post of my grub4dos menu list back when I used it to multiboot of various installed puppy linux.

    antiX-forum - View topic - patches for antiX-M11-rc3 available.
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    9
    It's now 11:20 pm...

    I created a swap partition. I installed GRUB4DOS to the MBR.

    I reset my drive priorities in the BIOS. Rebooted. GRUB4DOS came up with selection screen. I had X seconds to select something...but arrow keys no work. Grub attempted to boot to windows... no windows. Grub pops back to selection screen... arrow keys wont work.

    Note: I noticed the linux boot option in grub stated PBR... not MBR... I think I screwed up my swap partition, so I'm running Gpart to see what happened.

    As I'm wanting for the scan to complete...

    I set up the network connection and was able to get on the internet. I downloaded the bootinfoscript utility to see if it would help. No joy.
    The console is way complex for me at the moment.

    Also, I clicked on the "Open CourseWare for Linux Geeks", roxytnji has on his tags line. The manuals there are probably where I need to start for learning command line. The very basic, newbie stuff.

    I liked the icon of a newly hatched penguin in the 1st manual. Thats what I am... A hatchling!

    Update...

    11:35
    Partition just finished. My swap partition is listed as "linux- swap". Just selected "swap off" option. Gpart is now scanning again... another 10- 15 minute wait.

    I'm feeling loopy... Went to bed at 3am got up at 7am, now its 11:40pm... been at this Learning/ reading Linux/ distro research/ distro downloads/ .ISO download/ .ISO cd burner download/ Puppy install stuff since Wednesday last week. Monday now. I'll get this Linux stuff... eventually.

    Update...

    11:51pm

    Gpart just finished. I went in and saw that "swap on" was an option. I reset the extention to FAT32, thinking that if Grub4DOS wants to look for DOS, why not give it something to chew on?
    ... and just realized that the Swap option is still off after i hit "apply". <another 15 minute wait>

    Also... I recall seeing in Gpart the only swap option was "Linux Swap". I wonder if this simply defaults to the PBR option, instead of MBR?

    I was just looking on the web for a definition of linux pbr, and found some threads implying the PBR is different from MBR....Is this true?

    Update...

    12:08 AM (Happy Tuesday!)

    Gpart just finished running. I was pondering this before it stopped...

    Since I turned off swap, and forgot to turn it on again, if I re install the G4D, I wonder if it would give me an MBR option instead of PBR?

    Ok... its now 12:31am.

    I found that G4D has a help guide on the net at //didyboot-land.net/grub4dos/files/cli.htm

    I'm going to this and see if it helps any. I got to go to bed

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    9
    OK...

    I was wiped last night... LOL

    I think I found my REAL problem in falling to boot >>> The USB keyboard is disabled while we are in the PBR/ MBR.

    My selection screen pops up with GRUB4DOS, however, no way to select Linux. Therefore, I'm going to try putting GRUB back to Legacy GRUB, and see if this fixes the problem. But first, I'm going to surf the web for GRUB with USB support.

    USDragoon

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    9
    I've verified the problem...

    My mother board is an
    Aurora Gigabyte 7DX Model number MBD001140- xx (This generation first appeared approx. November 2000 time frame) (The -xx = models 00 thru 04)
    Socket 462
    VIA 82c686b

    My USB options are enabled, however, BIOS is not "letting ?" the USB keyboard into the PBR with GRUB4DOS. Therefore, this is why I can't select Linux to launch in the first selection> only Windows- which does not exist. Also... Legacy Grub may be receiving the same issue as well, in regards to the USB keyboard enabling beyond BIOS to PBR.

    The fix...
    1) I have only the second of about five or six BIOS flash updates I've found listed. No details on any of the updates are known by me at this time.

    2) I know my system performs rather well otherwise. All I think I need to do is find a PS2 keyboard, and I should be able to boot through the PBR/ GRUB to my Distro. I'll keep an eye peeled for one.

    3) The fix/ or band -aid for now is to boot up from my Live CD. As I do have Puppy on my HDD, and internet connection, I can start learning Linux from the ground up!

    Thanks guys for your help!
    Whether I took your advice directly or indirectly, you each encouraged me forward!

    Onward I go!

    USDragoon

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •