Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello everybody, I am fairly new to Linux (And to this website by the same fact ) and I would like to get some help to choose the right Linux ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question Which distribution for Django Web Development project ?

Hello everybody,

I am fairly new to Linux (And to this website by the same fact ) and I would like to get some help to choose the right Linux distribution for my needs.

Some friends and I have started a web application project which we will develop using the Django Framework, a Python framework. To host our web applications, we will be using VPS. We have the choice between KVM and OpenVZ, however we are heading for KVM as I have found some information indicating that KVM is more suitable for Django development.

The VPS allows us to choose from a ton of Linux distribution:
    - CentOS
    - Gentoo
    - Debian
    - Arch Linux
    - Fedora
    - SUSE
    - Ubuntu
    - Scientific Linux
    - SlackWare

And we can ask for additional distribution if we need to.

It is important for us to limit the risk of problems when going from one of our computer to the VPS. Also, security plays a major role considering that we will have some personal information about our clients. I've read that laptop use also plays a role in distribution choice, so we must not ignore the fact that we will be using laptops from time to time.

So, considering these facts (to sum up: new to Linux, web developers, hosted on a VPS, transition from computer to VPS as seamlessly as possible, security and laptop), which distribution would be a great bet ? Also, I don't know if it change anything, but I know that I will be using a 64bits system.

If any additional information might be useful, do not hesitate to ask me

Thanks all !

Either at home or at work or down the pub