Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi everyone, I am a teacher at a private college. Our school uses an online, paper-free curriculum. Our curriculum makes uses of Google Apps and as such, all our teachers ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Something similar to Chromium OS

Hi everyone,

I am a teacher at a private college. Our school uses an online, paper-free curriculum. Our curriculum makes uses of Google Apps and as such, all our teachers and students have google accounts.

Each teacher has been given a PC with Windows 7 installed on it for their classroom. Many teachers are very unfamiliar with using computers and as such, their computers are becoming extremely full of windows garbage. Unfortunately, we have too few teachers who really know how to use windows without screwing up their machines.

I have always been a big fan of the Chromium Project as really, our teachers only need to use a web browser with their own bookmarks. I have looked at Hexxeh's Flow and Lime distributions, but unfortunately, it doesn't look like it would be easy to put it on all our computers due to each computer having different hardware requirements.

As such, I have been researching about the best way to deploy a Linux distro on all our computers. Ultimately, I want our teachers to be able to log in on any computer in the school with their Google Account, and as such, open the Chromium Web Browser, and see all their bookmarks and have access to their other saved Google apps info.

As such, I have been reading about setting up Chromium in Kiosk mode on Ubuntu. I have configured the machine to auto-login and start up Chromium in kiosk mode. This requires teachers to then log in with their Google account. I can't seem to figure out a way for them to log out and have all their setting erase automatically.