Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi. I am just a 3-month year old newbie in Gnu/linux but recently I discovered how powerful the terminal can be. I wanted to install LibreOffice and I downloaded the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Manual or tuto to learn using the terminal?

Hi.

I am just a 3-month year old newbie in Gnu/linux but recently I discovered how powerful the terminal can be.

I wanted to install LibreOffice and I downloaded the .tar.gz file I needed.There where a lot of Deb files and I panicked because I had to install them one by one with Gdebi, wich was an slow-killing install. I was desesperated because I didn't knew how to install them until I found the install instructions in LO webpage, It was something like this: (sorry, it is in spanish. ''Descargas'' means downloads.

sudo dpkg -i ~/Descargas/LibO_3.3.0_Linux_x86_install-deb_en-US/DEBS/*.deb

To install the language and help Guide I just changed the folder names ( install-langpack and helpack)

Do yo know some kind of good manual to learn to use terminal efficiently and learn from the most basic to most advanced commands? I think I'm starting to like it.

Take a look here: LinuxCommand.org: Learn the Linux command line. Write shell scripts.
    It's a pretty handy site for getting to know the terminal.
    Jay

New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

Which Linux distro are you using? Learning Terminal commands is really helpful but I won't suggest you install packages manually. You should use your distro's Package Manger to install packages otherwise you will face a lot of dependency problems which might frustrate you.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First