Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Hi All, I am new to Linux . I just enrolled in a linux essentials class. I have a REDHAT linux 6.2 installation disk the instructor gave me for a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Attempting to install Redhat Linux 6.2 installation over windows XP

Hi All,
    I am new to Linux . I just enrolled in a linux essentials class.

I have a REDHAT linux 6.2 installation disk the instructor gave me for a 32 bit machine. I brought a used Dell with

Windows XP already loaded on it. How would I install that LINUX redhat installation disk on the already existing Windows System.

At first I was thinking of using a dual boot system (having both windows and Linux). Bear in mind when I went to Disk managment to check, the windows is on the c:> and I have 32gig. There is no D:>

Question.

1) DO I have to reformat the windows on the c:> (reformat option) and then install the Redhat CD

or

2) Can I just try to install it with the linux installation disk, and during the install, will Linux automatically remove the Windows OS.

Not sure what to do. But as I'm thinking I don't really need to have the windows on that pc, because i did buy the old Dell to use exclusively as a Linux machine for class and homework.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

hi and welcome

First, I assume you dont mind loosing that windows XP. Is that right?

Second: Did your instructor give you redhat linux 6.2 or redhat enterprise linux 6.2?

The redhat linux 6.2 old, as in: ancient. It was released in march 2000.
    Sure, one can still learn the basics of unix with it,
    but there wont be software repositories readily available anymore and the online documentation and help is limited.
    I would suggest to use a modern linux distribution.

RedHat Enterprise Linux 6.2 is just one minor version away from the newest 6.3.
    It is very well supported and documented.