Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello all! I am fairly new to the Linux world, and in my linux class, I am working on a lab, using the Putty client... I am in a directory ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Copying Single File Multiple Times into a Directory

Hello all!

I am fairly new to the Linux world, and in my linux class, I am working on a lab, using the Putty client...

I am in a directory called "week8" and here is the step I'm having issues with:

Step - Copy the file /bin/touch into this directory 3 times, each time giving the target a different name.

I have copied files into directories before using "cp," and have been successful. So when I type "cp /bin/touch week8" it looks like it copied, but when I use "ls" to search the directory, nothing shows up.

Am I missing something here?

If any more information is needed, please let me know. My "teacher" says this is a fairly easy task; that is all they said when I asked for assistance.

Thanks!!

Trusted Penguin
    Hello and welcome!

First off, just so you know, homework questions are against Forum Rules. However, your question is fairly basic, so I think we can help you here.

So when you did the command "cp /bin/touch week8", did the directory "week8" already exist in the current working directory? You can confirm by just doing an "ls -l" command, while in the directory you think it is in. you should see the dir in the output, if it exists, e.g.:
    Code:
    # ls -l
    drwxrwxr-x 2 root root     4096 Nov 12 22:32 week8
    Notice the "d" at the beginning of the permissions in the first column, that indicates that it is a directory.