Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 24
It's ok Yes, but I have no clue how to even set it up with the manager. There is a space for wireless (an empty space, but beats me what ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    14

    It's ok

    Yes, but I have no clue how to even set it up with the manager. There is a space for wireless (an empty space, but beats me what I'm suppose to do with it). If you talk about msconfig, regedit or anything else in a pc, I could handle it lol, but a Linux interface is VERY new to me, but I really wanna get Linux on my laptop to work correctly!

    So here goes!
    Code:
    23:55 matriux@(none) matriux% sudo iwlist wlan1 scan
    sudo: unable to resolve host (none)
    wlan1	Interface doesn't support scanning : Network is down
    zsh: exit 255     sudo iwlist wlan1 scan
    
    23:56 matriux@(none) matriux% su iwlist wlan1 scan
    Unknown id: iwlist
    zsh: exit 1     su iwlist wlan1 scan
    
    23:56 matriux@(none) matriux% sudo iwlist wlan0 scan
    wlan0	Interface doesn't support scanning : Network is down
    zsh: exit 255     sudo iwlist wlan0 scan
    
    23:57 matriux@(none) matriux% su iwlist wlan0 scan
    Unknown id: iwlist
    zsh: exit 1     su iwlist wlan0 scan

  2. #12
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Ok, here goes one more time.
    sudo ifconfig wlan0 up
    sudo iwlist wlan0 scan

    You have to bring the device up first, then scan. Try both of course, since we still don't know which is the wifi.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    14
    Ok, so the first option said:

    Code:
    sudo: unable to resolve host (none)
    followed by the first pic (they are links btw. Unfortunately, I do not have 15 posts yet :P so I cannot post as real links)

    postimage.org/image/f7jutwtel/

    Now the second pic:
    postimage.org/image/58gxdz0oh/

  4. #14
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Sweet, we're getting somewhere here. Now try these.
    Code:
    sudo ifconfig wlan1 up
    Code:
    sudo iwconfig wlan1 essid "VIDEOTRON9035" key 73789874987
    Code:
    sudo dhclient wlan1
    The above assumes videotron9035 is your Essid and you need to change key to the actual wireless password.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    14
    Sweet although I think Linux disagrees lol. I am not sure, but I believe its screwing with me ahah:

    postimage.org/image/g8qun30ob/

    I have taken off the password of course.

  6. #16
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Quote Originally Posted by mades View Post
    Sweet although I think Linux disagrees lol. I am not sure, but I believe its screwing with me ahah:

    postimage.org/image/g8qun30ob/

    I have taken off the password of course.
    You forgot the 1 in the second command.
    Code:
    sudo ifconfig wlan1 up
    sudo iwconfig wlan1 essid "VIDEOTRON9035" key xxxxxxxx
    sudo dhclient wlan1
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  7. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    14
    Ok... so this is what it tells me:

    postimage.org/image/ojrjomz97/

  8. #18
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Sorry for not getting back sooner. You fell through the "Mike cracks", my bad, I seem to have a lot of cracks lately.

    So, you seem to be using root already, no need to use sudo for that. I think the problem might be the key xxxxx part. Try changing it to this: My let's get mad at it codes!
    Code:
    ifconfig wlan1 up
    dhclient -r wlan1
    iwconfig wlan1 mode Managed
    iwconfig wlan1 essid "VIDEOTRON9035"
    iwconfig wlan1 key xxxxxxx open
    or 
    iwconfig wlan1 key s: xxxxxxx open
    dhclient wlan1
    Also, if it fails at any point, issue the dmesg command and copy the last 50-75 WIFI related lines, or better yet, issue the dmesg command after ever command I offer you, look for errors, clues, anything relevant. Is this a laptop? Does it have a WIFI on button? Does the card work with any other OS?

    EDIT: Here is a fairly helpful link, be sure and pay attention to comment #8 about WEP/WPA passkeys.
    http://superuser.com/questions/42460...lays-in-ubuntu
    Last edited by MikeTbob; 01-01-2013 at 02:53 AM. Reason: See EDIT:
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  9. #19
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    I'm lost here...
    Do you get anything with
    Code:
    sudo rfkill list all
    *EDIT*

    Follow Mikes' steps first.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  10. #20
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Quote Originally Posted by jayd512 View Post
    I'm lost here...
    Do you get anything with
    Code:
    sudo rfkill list all
    *EDIT*

    Follow Mikes' steps first.
    Post that too!!
    I'm a bit rusty on Wireless because mine works so well I guess. The OP needs all the help he can get
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •