Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hello , I am new to this linux-forum. I am porting linux-2.6.28 kernel in our customized 8640 board.Our board has 2GB ddr and 256 MB flash. Bootloader is fine. when ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Ramdisk error : invalid compressed format (err=1)

Hello ,

I am new to this linux-forum. I am porting linux-2.6.28 kernel in our customized 8640 board.Our board has 2GB ddr and 256 MB flash. Bootloader is fine.

when i load uimage & ramdisk to the board it shows one error in ramdisk,as shown below,

/*************************************************/
    RAMDISK: Compressed image found at block 0

invalid compressed format (err=1)

EXT2-fs warning: checktime reached, running e2fsck is recommended

VFS: Mounted root (ext2 filesystem)

/*************************************************/

I tried with different ramdisk, but still problem remains same.

I couldn figure out why i am getting this error.

Can anyone suggest solution to solve this problem.

regards,

Akilan

Trusted Penguin
    Hello and welcome!

Have you tried loading an uncompressed kernel? How is the kernel image compressed? On a Linux host that has a copy of the uimage kernel, try this:

Code:
    file ./vmlinuz-2.6.28
    substitute the name of your kernel file, obviously. It is likely bzip2 or gzip, but could be something else. Once, you know, you can uncompress it and try to load that (if your board supports the greater size, that is).

Just Joined!
    Hi,

Thanks for ur reply,

I tried uncompressing kernel using this commmand,

mkimage -A ppc -O linux -T kernel -C none -a 0 -e 0 -n linux-2.6.28.5 -d vmlinux.bin.gz uImage

and loaded the image, but it got crashed.

kernel image compressed in gzip format using this command,

mkimage -A ppc -O linux -T kernel -C gzip -a 0 -e 0 -n linux-2.6.28.5 -d vmlinux.bin.gz uImage