Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I'm currently new to system administration. I was ask to do a task to provide the list of all users in the server and provide the level of access(permissions ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

List user access

Hi, I'm currently new to system administration. I was ask to do a task to provide the list of all users in the server and provide the level of access(permissions - Read/Write) for each users on different folders. I know where I can get the list of all the users which is in /etc/passwd but my problem is on how to know which directory and files these users have access. Is there a command for this or do I need to create a script? I'm not really good at shell scripting. Please help me. Thanks.

Just Joined!
    Not sure if this will help... Try modifying this find command. Perm 040 here means only read permission to group and the output should have file owner info

# find . -perm 040 -type f -exec ls -l {} \

srj
    Hello,

I hope this will help:

The permissions are set in each file and folder from the filesystem.

If you run the "ls -l" command the output will be something like this:

-rw-r--r-- 1 user1 group2 Dec 04 2012 file

Where:

user1 - is the file owner (username)
    group2 - is the group access for this file (any member in that group will access the files accordigly)

The first - is the file type (- for file, d for directory, l for link)
    The next 3 characters rw- represents the permissions for the user (user1 in our example)
    The next 3 characters r-- represents the permissions for the entire group (group2 in our example)
    And the other 3 r-- represents the permissions for others (not user1 and not a member of group2, in our example)

rwx = read, write, execute | if not available - denies access

For the same example:
    -rw-r--r-- 1 user1 group2 Dec 04 2012 file

user1 can read an modify the file