Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Hi All I just installed Linux, and I want to mount a Windows share onto Linux. But when I use the mount command, Terminal tells me: mount: Only root can ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    7

    Issues using the mount command: No root privileges


    Hi All

    I just installed Linux, and I want to mount a Windows share onto Linux. But when I use the mount command, Terminal tells me:
    mount: Only root can do that.

    Now I tried switching to root by typing: su -
    It then asks me for a password. I typed in the only password I have used for linux and that is my user account password, it tells me authentication fails.

    How can I get into root/get root privileges to use the mount command?

    Thank you

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Hi and Welcome !

    Which Linux distro are you using? Have you tried sudo to gain root privileges?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    7
    Hi. Thank you. I am using Ubuntu 12.10 - the latest one.
    Do you mean I should run the command: sudo su -?

  4. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    su is not enabled by default in Ubuntu and you have to use sudo to gain root privileges.
    e.g.
    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l
    Check this sticky on sudo.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Santa Cruz, California
    Posts
    76
    If you want a root password on Ubuntu, try this

    $ sudo su - that makes you root
    [sudo] password for user:
    # passwd then set your root password

  6. #6
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Since the root account is not enabled in Ubuntu, you can simply put sudo in front of any command that requires admin privileges.
    Example:
    Code:
    sudo mount /dev/sda5 /mnt/windows
    <enter your password>
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    7
    Thank you everyone, appreciate. Got it working by using sudo...

  8. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Glad to help you ! Do start a new thread if you have any other question.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •